GP Canada 2024



Circuit Gilles Villeneuve


4,361 km

Number of turns:


Number of laps:


Race distance:

305,271 km


Since its completion in 1978, the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Montreal has been the host of the Canadian Grand Prix. Originally, the circuit was named the Île de Notre-Dame Circuit, after the island that was constructed in the Saint Lawrence River for the WorldExpo in the late 1960s.

In the 1970s, the island was further developed with a rowing course for the 1976 Olympic Games. While they were at it, a circuit was also built to replace the dangerous F1 circuit Mosport Park near Toronto.

The inaugural Grand Prix on Île de Notre-Dame was won by local hero Gilles Villeneuve. This was the first Formula 1 victory for the Canadian, who tragically lost his life in an accident at Circuit Zolder on May 8, 1982. Immediately after his death, the operators of the Montreal circuit decided to rename the track, and since then it has been known as Circuit Gilles Villeneuve.

The Wall of Champions

The circuit has all the characteristics of a street circuit. It is narrow, with hardly any run-off areas, but unlike Monaco, for example, top speed and power are crucial at Gilles Villeneuve. A famous feature is the wall at the exit of turn 13 at the end of the Casino Straight. During the 1999 Grand Prix, Damon Hill, Michael Schumacher, and Jacques Villeneuve crashed in succession at this turn, earning the wall the nickname ‘The Wall of Champions’. Schumacher, along with Lewis Hamilton, still holds the record for the most wins at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, with both drivers having won seven times.

The Future of the Canadian Grand Prix

Although the Canadian Grand Prix is a staple on the Formula 1 calendar and fans appreciate the atmosphere in Montreal, it was uncertain whether the race would return after the coronavirus pandemic. Due to travel restrictions, racing in Canada was not possible in 2020 and 2021. However, after a two-year absence, Formula 1 returned to Canada in 2022. That edition was won by Max Verstappen. Verstappen continued this trend in Canada, also winning the GP in 2023.

Key Facts about the Canadian Grand Prix:

  • Established: 1978
  • First F1 Race: 1978
  • Location: Montreal
  • Length: 4.361 km
  • Number of Turns: 14
  • Most Wins: Schumacher and Hamilton (7 each)
  • Lap Record: Valtteri Bottas (1:13.078 in 2019)

Recent Winners of the Canadian Grand Prix:

  • 2023: Max Verstappen
  • 2022: Max Verstappen
  • 2019: Lewis Hamilton
  • 2018: Sebastian Vettel
  • 2017: Lewis Hamilton

Jenson Button’s Extraordinary Victory

The 2011 Canadian Grand Prix was marked by heavy rain. Jenson Button had a disastrous start to the race. He collided with his teammate, Lewis Hamilton, which resulted in a time penalty. He also had a run-in with Felipe Massa, causing a flat tire. Consequently, Button was in the last position after these incidents. Miraculously, Button steadily moved up the ranks. He perfectly assessed the weather conditions and made the right decisions at the right time. Towards the end, it seemed he would finish second until Sebastian Vettel made a mistake in the final lap. Button overtook the German and won the race in a remarkable fashion.

When does the 2024 Canadian Grand Prix start?

Friday, June 7

19:30 – 20:30 First Free Practice
23:00 – 00:00 Second Free Practice

Saturday, June 8

18:30 – 19:30 Third Free Practice
22:00 – 23:00 Qualification

Sunday, June 9

20:00 – 22:00 Race

Share this on:

Related news

Suscríbete y mantente

en la pole position

¿No quieres perderte las últimas noticias de la Fórmula 1?

Suscríbete a nuestro boletín.

Subscribe and

stay on pole

Don't want to miss the latest Formula 1 news?

Subscribe to our newsletter.



Don't want to miss out on the latest Formula 1 news?

Subscribe to our newsletter.