GP Bahrain 2024



Bahrein International Circuit


5,412 km

Number of turns:


Number of laps:


Race distance:

308,238 km


The Bahrain Grand Prix takes place at the Bahrain International Circuit, a track designed by Hermann Tilke, the ‘house architect’ of Formula 1. The circuit was opened in 2004, making Bahrain the first Middle Eastern country to host a Grand Prix. Since then, it has become a staple on the calendar. In fact, since 2004, Formula 1 has only missed Bahrain once, in 2011, due to protests and unrest in the country. Max Verstappen has won the race once so far, in 2023.

Season Openers and Circuit Configurations

In 2006 and 2010, the Bahrain Grand Prix was the season opener for Formula 1, a role it resumed in 2021 and will continue in 2024. The race on the 5412-meter-long circuit is traditionally held in the spring. The exception was the coronavirus year 2020, when it hosted races fifteen and sixteen, with the latter race being named the Sakhir Grand Prix and held on a different layout. Over the years, Formula 1 has raced on three different configurations at the circuit.

Memorable Moments at the Bahrain Grand Prix

Fernando Alonso raced his first race for Ferrari here in 2010, and it was a successful debut. The Spaniard won his first race in red, a moment that Italian fans will not forget. This 2010 race also marked the return of Felipe Massa, who had suffered a severe accident in Hungary the previous year. Massa finished second in this edition, a fond memory for the scarlet team.

Key Facts about the Bahrain Grand Prix

  • Opened: 2004
  • First F1 race: 2004
  • Location: Sakhir
  • Length: 5.412 km
  • Number of turns: 15
  • Most victories: Lewis Hamilton (5)
  • Lap record: Pedro de la Rosa (1:31.447 in 2005)

Recent Winners of the Bahrain Grand Prix

  • 2023: Max Verstappen
  • 2022: Charles Leclerc
  • 2021: Lewis Hamilton
  • 2020: Lewis Hamilton
  • 2019: Lewis Hamilton
  • 2018: Sebastian Vettel

Desert Duels

The most memorable Bahrain Grand Prix is either the 2014 race, when Mercedes drivers Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg fought out the ‘duel in the desert’, or the 2020 edition with Romain Grosjean’s fiery horror crash. In 2022, Max Verstappen and Charles Leclerc also had a memorable battle in the desert state, which was won by Leclerc. The Bahrain International Circuit is well suited for battles, especially due to the relatively long straights and the space in turns 1 to 4.

Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton: The Most Successful Driver at Bahrain International Circuit

Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton holds the record for the most victories at the Bahrain International Circuit, with five wins to his name. However, no team has won more times than Ferrari, which has seven victories. These wins are thanks to the efforts of Sebastian Vettel, Fernando Alonso, Michael Schumacher, Felipe Massa, and Charles Leclerc. Max Verstappen achieved his first victory at the Bahrain International Circuit in 2023. Prior to this, the Dutch driver had less success, failing to finish three times and only making it to the podium once before 2023. This was after a thrilling duel with Lewis Hamilton in 2021, where Verstappen came up short. The Bahrain Grand Prix will be held on March 2, 2024.

Bahrain Grand Prix 2023: A Clear Winner

Despite it being his first victory at this circuit, Max Verstappen was unbeatable in the first race of the season. Verstappen started the Bahrain Grand Prix from the front row and quickly pulled away from Charles Leclerc. Leclerc initially moved into second place at the start, but had to surrender this position to Sergio Pérez halfway through the race. Leclerc’s race ended prematurely due to engine problems. Fernando Alonso, who was in a battle with Carlos Sainz at the time, easily moved into third place as a result.

Start Time for the Bahrain Grand Prix 2024

Thursday, February 29

12.30 – 13.30: 1st free practice
16.00 – 17.00: 2nd free practice

Friday, March 1

13.30 -14.30: 3rd free practice
17.00 – 18.00: qualification

Saturday, March 2

16.00 – 18.00: race

Share this on:

Related news

Suscríbete y mantente

en la pole position

¿No quieres perderte las últimas noticias de la Fórmula 1?

Suscríbete a nuestro boletín.

Subscribe and

stay on pole

Don't want to miss the latest Formula 1 news?

Subscribe to our newsletter.



Don't want to miss out on the latest Formula 1 news?

Subscribe to our newsletter.