GP Austria 2024



Red Bull Ring


4,318 km

Number of turns:


Number of laps:


Race distance:

307,021 km


The Austrian Grand Prix, held at the Red Bull Ring in Spielberg, has been a favourite among Dutch Formula 1 and orange fans since Max Verstappen’s entry. However, it’s not the case that there were no Formula 1 races in Austria before the F1 came to the Red Bull Ring in 2014. On the contrary, they were even held at (almost) the same location.

The Origins of the Austrian Grand Prix

In 1964, Formula 1 raced on a circuit at the Zeltweg airport, but the track was deemed unsuitable. A few kilometers away, however, there was a suitable area, so the Österreichring was laid out in Spielberg, and Formula 1 was welcomed back from 1970.

Changes and Developments Over the Years

By the late eighties, the party was over, and Formula 1 returned to Austria a decade later on the circuit redesigned by Hermann Tilke and renamed the A1-Ring. The circuit has since become much shorter. After the Austrian Grand Prix disappeared from the calendar again in 2003 and Red Bull boss Dietrich Mateschitz bought the track, he had it refurbished without changing the layout. Since 2014, the Red Bull Ring has also claimed a weekend on the Formula 1 schedule.

Home Victories for Red Bull and Verstappen

What is now known as the Red Bull Ring is thus in its third life. This time, in the familiar blue colours. It’s truly a home celebration for Red Bull, which races under the Austrian flag and has managed to celebrate big four times. Max Verstappen has already won five times on the Red Bull Ring, much to the delight of his fans – although he had to concede victory to Charles Leclerc in 2022.

Notable Victories and Winners at the Red Bull Ring

Among the current racers, Max Verstappen, Charles Leclerc, Lewis Hamilton, and Valtteri Bottas have all claimed victory twice at the Red Bull Ring. On the old A1-Ring, Mika Häkkinen and Michael Schumacher were the most frequent winners, each triumphing twice. The only Austrian to win his home race was Niki Lauda in 1984, who still has a turn named after him.

Key Facts about the Austrian Grand Prix

  • Opened: 1970
  • First F1 race: 1970
  • Location: Spielberg
  • Length: 4.318 km
  • Number of turns: 10
  • Most victories: Max Verstappen (4)
  • Lap record: Carlos Sainz (1:05.619 in 2020)

Recent Winners of the Austrian Grand Prix

  • 2023: Max Verstappen
  • 2022: Charles Leclerc
  • 2021: Max Verstappen
  • 2020: Valtteri Bottas
  • 2019: Max Verstappen
  • 2018: Max Verstappen

The First ‘Corona Race’

In 2020, the Formula 1 world was turned upside down. Everything was cancelled at the last minute in Australia three months earlier. However, on July 5, Formula 1 was back on track in 2020. But everything was different: face masks, everyone in their ‘bubble’, no fans, and an abundance of testing. Formula 1 seemed unrecognizable. Except for the racing, that remained the same. On the Red Bull Ring, Lando Norris achieved his first podium. Valtteri Bottas also made history as the first ‘corona-winner’.

Share this on:

Related news

Suscríbete y mantente

en la pole position

¿No quieres perderte las últimas noticias de la Fórmula 1?

Suscríbete a nuestro boletín.

Subscribe and

stay on pole

Don't want to miss the latest Formula 1 news?

Subscribe to our newsletter.



Don't want to miss out on the latest Formula 1 news?

Subscribe to our newsletter.