Team principal:

Technical director:

Mike Elliot

Place of business:

Brackley and Brixworth, United Kingdom

The Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team is one of the most successful racing teams of recent decades. Since 2014, it has won an impressive eight constructors’ and seven drivers’ titles in a row. However, in 2022, there was little reason for the team of English drivers Lewis Hamilton and George Russell to celebrate.

The Early Years of Mercedes in Formula 1

The name Mercedes has been associated with Formula 1 since its early years. The team, operating from Germany at the time, enjoyed a highly successful period in the mid-1950s in the premier class of motorsport. With drivers like Juan Manuel Fangio and Stirling Moss, the Silver Arrows won nine Grand Prix in a short time, and Fangio even claimed the title of the world’s best F1 driver twice, in 1954 and 1955.

Mercedes Withdraws After Le Mans Disaster

Mercedes’ motorsport adventure was, however, short-lived. In those days, the Germans were not only active in Formula 1 but also in the 24 Hours of Le Mans. A horrific accident during this endurance race in 1955 resulted in the death of Mercedes driver Pierre Levegh and eighty spectators. Mercedes decided to withdraw completely from motorsport indefinitely at the end of the season.

Mercedes’ Return to the Top

Mercedes returned to the top level only in the 1990s. Initially, as a modest engine supplier for Sauber, later as a full-fledged partner of McLaren, which effectively became Mercedes’ factory team and achieved successes with Mika Häkkinen (1998 and 1999) and Lewis Hamilton (2008).

The Birth of a New F1 Team

The board of Daimler AG, the parent company of Mercedes-Benz, wanted more, and in 2010 it was decided to start a real F1 team of their own. For this purpose, the Germans purchased the factories (in Brackley and Brixworth, England), inventory, and license of Brawn GP, the small team that emerged from Honda and surprisingly became world champion in 2009. Ross Brawn was appointed team boss of the new racing team, and the German drivers Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg were recruited.

New Triumphs

The first few years were not very successful. The first victory of the modern Mercedes era dates back to 2012, but it was only in 2013, with the arrival of Lewis Hamilton to replace Schumacher and Toto Wolff taking over team leadership, that the ascent began.

Mercedes’ Mastery of the New Engine Regulations

In 2014, Mercedes proved to have the best understanding of the new engine regulations. In Brixworth, where the engine department is located, they managed to design an extraordinarily powerful 1.6-liter hybrid V6 engine with a turbo. Ultimately, Mercedes, with Hamilton and Rosberg, won 51 Grand Prix and six world titles (three times driver and three times constructor) until the end of 2016.

Continued Success Despite Rosberg’s Departure

When Rosberg decided to retire immediately after winning his world title at the end of 2016, Valtteri Bottas took his place. This did not prove to be a weakening. Between 2017 and 2021, another 60 GPs and nine titles (four times drivers and five times constructors) were won.

Mercedes Loses Top Position

Only in 2022, with the introduction of the new F1 cars, did Mercedes lose its dominance. Bottas left for Alfa Romeo at the end of 2021, and George Russell joined as his replacement. While Hamilton was unable to add a victory to his impressive total in 2022, Russell was successful. He achieved Mercedes’ only minor success with his first victory, the Brazilian Grand Prix.

Challenges in 2023 and Beyond

In 2023, the team did not start as favorites and even had to concede to Aston Martin. After a catch-up race in terms of updates, the team climbed back up the pecking order, although they were no match for Max Verstappen in the Red Bull. Hamilton, however, showed that his fire was not yet extinguished and left Russell behind this season.

Thanks to a clause in the contract of the seven-time champion, Lewis Hamilton will leave the British team for Scuderia Ferrari from 2025. This was announced prior to the 2024 season. For the other British driver, George Russell, the future is still open. Russell has a contract until the end of 2024.

Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team
Team Boss Toto Wolff
Technical Director Mike Elliot
Chief Designer John Owen
Test Drivers 2024 Mick Schumacher
Location Brackley (Eng) / Brixworth (Eng)
GP Debut GP France 1954
Driver Titles 9 (1954, 1955, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020)
Constructor Titles 8 (2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021)
Final Standings WK 2023 2
Lewis Hamilton #44
Nationality British
Date of Birth January 7, 1985
GP Debut Australia 2007
World Titles 7 (2008, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020)
Final Standings WK 2023 3
George Russell #63
Nationality British
Date of Birth February 15, 1998
GP Debut Australia 2019
World Titles 0
Final Standings WK 2023 8

Share this on:

Related news

Suscríbete y mantente

en la pole position

¿No quieres perderte las últimas noticias de la Fórmula 1?

Suscríbete a nuestro boletín.

Subscribe and

stay on pole

Don't want to miss the latest Formula 1 news?

Subscribe to our newsletter.



Don't want to miss out on the latest Formula 1 news?

Subscribe to our newsletter.