GP Monaco 2024



Circuit de Monaco


3,337 km

Number of turns:


Number of laps:


Race distance:

260,286 km


The Prestige of Winning in Monaco

The Principality, Monte Carlo, or simply Monaco, is a place where every Formula 1 driver aspires to win at least once. The winding street circuit has remained largely unchanged since the first Formula 1 race in 1950. In 2020, the race was cancelled for the first time in Formula 1 history due to COVID-19. The circuit is a succession of legendary turns, full speed through the tunnel towards the Nouvelle-Chicane, eventually leading to the iconic swimming pool section. The circuit has always retained its characteristics, where a single mistake can mean the end of the race.

Favorites of the Track

Monaco is often a favorite among the best drivers. Lewis Hamilton, Max Verstappen, and Sebastian Vettel have all won there. Ayrton Senna, known as Mister Monaco, made a name for himself with a second-place finish in the rain-soaked 1984 Monaco Grand Prix. Between 1989 and 1993, he secured five consecutive victories. In 1988, the Brazilian drove an extraordinary race, which he described as inhuman. He felt one with the car and was not even aware of what he was doing. However, he hit the wall and had to concede victory to his teammate Alain Prost. Michael Schumacher also felt at home in Monte Carlo, winning the harbor race five times.

Charles Leclerc is the first Monegasque to truly compete for prizes in Formula 1. He has been hoping to win in the principality for years, but luck has not been on his side. In 2019, the Ferrari driver started from the back of the field, and in 2021, despite securing pole position, he could not participate in the race due to a crash in qualifying. In 2022, he again secured the coveted pole position, but a strategic blunder deprived him of victory. He finished fourth. Thus, a Monegasque has never stood on the podium in Monte Carlo.

In 2023, after a thrilling qualifying round, Max Verstappen secured the first starting position. His final round in the third sector was of a new level. It was actually over the limit, but the Dutchman steered his car to the first starting position. He capitalized on this pole and won for the second time in Monaco, despite a wet track. Fernando Alonso came very close, but could not stop Verstappen in the end.

Monaco Grand Prix: Key Figures

  • Opening: 1929
  • First F1 race: 1950
  • Location: Monaco
  • Length: 3.337 km
  • Number of turns: 19
  • Most victories: Ayrton Senna (6)
  • Lap record: Lewis Hamilton (1:12.909 in 2021)

Monaco Grand Prix Winners

  • 2023: Max Verstappen
  • 2022: Sergio Pérez
  • 2021: Max Verstappen
  • 2019: Lewis Hamilton
  • 2018: Daniel Ricciardo
  • 2017: Sebastian Vettel

Redemption on the Track

In 2018, Daniel Ricciardo won for the first time in Monaco, but this should have happened two years earlier. In 2016, the affable Australian had a good start from pole and seemed to be cruising towards his first victory in Monaco. However, everything went wrong when Ricciardo drove into the pits for a tire change, but the tires were not ready. He lost the lead to Lewis Hamilton and had to settle for second place. In 2018, the Red Bull driver redeemed himself. Despite some mechanical issues, he crossed the finish line first in the streets of Monaco.

Schedule for the 2024 Monaco Grand Prix

Friday, May 24

  • 13:30 – 14:30: 1st free practice
  • 17:00 – 18:00: 2nd free practice

Saturday, May 25

  • 12:30 – 13:30: 3rd free practice
  • 16:00 – 17:00: Qualification

Sunday, May 26

  • 15:00 – 17:00: Race
Share this on:

Related news

Suscríbete y mantente

en la pole position

¿No quieres perderte las últimas noticias de la Fórmula 1?

Suscríbete a nuestro boletín.

Subscribe and

stay on pole

Don't want to miss the latest Formula 1 news?

Subscribe to our newsletter.



Don't want to miss out on the latest Formula 1 news?

Subscribe to our newsletter.