GP Singapore 2024



Marina Bay Street Circuit


4,928 km

Number of turns:


Number of laps:


Race distance:

308,828 km


The Singapore Grand Prix was introduced in 2007 as the latest gem of Formula 1: the first night race on a street circuit in a metropolis. The race in Singapore, known for its stunning visuals, continues to be a jewel in the F1 calendar. The 2023 edition was won by Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz.

The event captured the imagination and has evolved into a modern classic over the years. The initial design was by F1’s in-house architect Hermann Tilke, with the final completion by the American engineering firm KBR.

Key Facts about the Singapore GP:

  • Construction: 2008 (street circuit)
  • First F1 race: 2008
  • Location: Singapore
  • Length: 5.063 km
  • Number of turns: 19
  • Most victories: Sebastian Vettel (5)
  • Lap record: Kevin Magnussen (1.41,905 in 2018)

Recent Winners of the Singapore GP:

  • 2023: Carlos Sainz
  • 2022: Sergio Pérez
  • 2019: Sebastian Vettel
  • 2018: Lewis Hamilton
  • 2017: Lewis Hamilton
  • 2016: Nico Rosberg

The Singapore GP did not take place in 2020 and 2021 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The Singapore Grand Prix: The Toughest Race on the Formula 1 Calendar

The track is located in downtown Singapore, in Marina Bay. The circuit is over five kilometers long, with the first version in 2008 featuring a whopping 23 turns. This has since been reduced to 19. The most notable modification is turn 10 in 2013, initially known as the Singapore Sling, named after the famous cocktail. The Grand Prix is renowned for its extreme difficulty, with the climate in the Asian city-state being hot and very humid. The intensity of a street race, the numerous turns, and often lengthy races make it a true test of endurance. Since the Grand Prix of 2008, every edition has been interrupted at least once by a safety car situation.

The Controversial 2008 Singapore Grand Prix

The 2008 edition, the first-ever Singapore GP, is also the most controversial due to the Crashgate scandal. Polesitter Felipe Massa prematurely left a pit stop, tearing a fuel tank hose and ultimately allowing Fernando Alonso to take the lead. It later emerged that second driver Nelsinho Piquet was instructed by team boss Flavio Briatore and Renault to crash his car and force a safety car situation, all to favor Alonso. Briatore was subsequently banned from the sport, a punishment that was later somewhat reversed.

Ferrari’s Interference with Max Verstappen during the 2017 Singapore GP

The start of the 2017 race also produced iconic images. Sebastian Vettel, then in a fierce title fight with Lewis Hamilton, started from pole with Max Verstappen beside him and teammate Kimi Räikkönen in P3. When Verstappen got a better start and saw the rocket-started Räikkönen coming up beside him, he had nowhere to go. Vettel, on the other hand, tried to squeeze Verstappen from the other side, resulting in all three drivers being knocked out of the race. Lewis Hamilton was the fortunate fourth and claimed the victory: a crucial win in his eventual title. Sebastian Vettel also had many successes in the city-state, with five victories making him the most successful driver there.

Sergio Pérez Triumphs in 2022 Singapore Grand Prix

Sergio Pérez emerged as the victor of the 2022 edition of the Singapore Grand Prix. The race began under wet conditions, with Pérez managing to outmaneuver polesitter Charles Leclerc in the first lap, a lead he maintained throughout the race. Max Verstappen had a less successful weekend, with a miscalculation on Saturday leading to a fuel shortage and a missed opportunity for pole position. Starting from P8, Verstappen had an unfortunate race, finishing in seventh place.

A Surprising Winner

The following year, both Sergio Pérez and Max Verstappen had less successful races in Singapore. For the first time this year, a Red Bull driver did not cross the finish line first. Instead, it was Carlos Sainz who claimed victory on this street circuit, followed by Lando Norris and Lewis Hamilton. Sainz is the only driver this season who managed to break Red Bull’s winning streak.

Schedule for the 2023 Singapore Grand Prix

Friday, September 20
11:30 – 12:30: First free practice
15:00 – 16:00: Second free practice
Saturday, September 21
11:30 – 12:30: Third free practice
15:00 – 16:00: Qualification
Sunday, September 22
14:00 – 16.00: Race

Share this on:

Related news

Suscríbete y mantente

en la pole position

¿No quieres perderte las últimas noticias de la Fórmula 1?

Suscríbete a nuestro boletín.

Subscribe and

stay on pole

Don't want to miss the latest Formula 1 news?

Subscribe to our newsletter.



Don't want to miss out on the latest Formula 1 news?

Subscribe to our newsletter.